The PennLUG Forum
Welcome to PennLUG Forums! Please login or register. While registering please make sure to select YES on Newsletter so you can emails for dates and time.
Google Calendar
Latest topics
» Meetings
by mrsrothbricks Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:55 am

» 4DBrick monorail fans
by maarek Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:09 am

» FNS Black Pearl, Fusion Powered Sub MOC (LDD)
by afol666 Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:19 am

» Friends and Family 20% off for The Lego Store coupon for this weekend---anyone want it?
by bas157 Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:33 pm

» Sign me up.
by Ben-Laura Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:14 pm

» Another new member
by MikeKn Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:00 am

» Introductions
by Ben-Laura Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:42 pm

» buWizz remote control
by maarek Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:14 pm

» Bricklink sellers? Profitable?
by MikeKn Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:59 am

» eMail - Survey
by maarek Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:56 am

» LDraw
by Brick_Dad Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:50 am

» MOCs for sale
by Brick_Dad Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:57 pm

» Lego Thunder Road game. ** Joel and Sam **
by classicplasticbricks Sun May 22, 2016 7:08 pm

» Philly Brick Fest 2016 Photos.
by Cale Tue May 17, 2016 2:18 pm

» Ready to join!
by Brianb Sun May 15, 2016 9:00 pm

» wanna play?
by afol666 Thu May 12, 2016 5:04 pm

» New Member request
by maarek Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:39 pm

» New Member
by ruxtpin Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:23 pm

» MAKE Extra $ WEDNESDAY MARCH 9th while playing with LEGOS!! Blue Bell PA (outside Philadelphia)
by whataslacker Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:43 pm

» reporter looking to get in touch with local builders
by Kreativ Snail Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:35 pm

Off Topic: Recycle old computer stuff

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Off Topic: Recycle old computer stuff

Post  Uniblab on Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:24 pm

Recycling time. Do your bit for the environment.

I am gathering up my old computer stuff to send to the recycler. I thought I'd offer to take anyone else's old electronic stuff, too. So if you're the least bit like me, you may have stuff sitting around because you thought you might use it some day, or you didn't want it to go to a land fill.

Hard drives
Battery back-ups
Lead batteries

None of these types of things should ever go out with the trash. Along with some precious metals, which is how the recyclers turn a slight profit, The above listed items contain heavy metals and toxic chemicals. None of which should ever find their way into a land fill.

Now is your chance to have it all be disposed of properly. Bring your old equipment to the meeting on Saturday and I'll drop it off at the recycling center. After all, you probably need that space for more LEGO.

Mike Tighe

2x3 Brick
2x3 Brick

Male Posts : 302
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 55
Location : Camp Hill, PA

Back to top Go down

Re: Off Topic: Recycle old computer stuff

Post  rgb on Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:40 pm

Have you tried posting any of your stuff to Craigslist? I agree we should keep this crap out of landfills for sure, but why scrap something if it can still be used by somebody? I gave away several computers and monitor for free recently. I've got boxes of cables and misc parts I'll try giving away first.

As you can tell from my crapy clone bricks of doom and Lego Store Bags posts, I'm trying to clear stuff out of my house without sending stuff to the landfill.

2x4 Brick
2x4 Brick

Male Posts : 598
Join date : 2010-01-04
Location : Philadelphia, PA

Back to top Go down

how to get rid of stuff to a good home

Post  Kreativ Snail on Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:18 pm

Thee is something called "freecycle" where you can list free stuff you are giving away, and someone will gladly take it. There are freecycle groups all over the country. Chances are there is a group near you. You can join, and then post stuff you need to find a home for. I have also gotten some good stuff from the site.

Kreativ Snail
BLUE 2x4 Brick
BLUE 2x4 Brick

Female Posts : 1049
Join date : 2009-12-13
Age : 54
Location : Snailtopia

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum