The PennLUG Forum
Welcome to PennLUG Forums! Please login or register. While registering please make sure to select YES on Newsletter so you can emails for dates and time.
Google Calendar
Latest topics
» A new train curve
by danny316p Fri Dec 02, 2016 11:46 pm

» LEGO Resale Value
by Brickadier General Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:24 pm

» PennLUG Club Member Information Survey.
by Brickadier General Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:12 pm

» Master Builder position at the new Plymouth Meeting LEGOLAND Discovery Center
by Brickadier General Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:07 pm

» 4DBrick monorail fans
by Kreativ Snail Fri Nov 04, 2016 8:14 am

» Introductions
by cjedwards Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:21 pm

» Meetings
by mrsrothbricks Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:55 am

» FNS Black Pearl, Fusion Powered Sub MOC (LDD)
by afol666 Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:19 am

» Friends and Family 20% off for The Lego Store coupon for this weekend---anyone want it?
by bas157 Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:33 pm

» Sign me up.
by Ben-Laura Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:14 pm

» Another new member
by MikeKn Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:00 am

» buWizz remote control
by maarek Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:14 pm

» Bricklink sellers? Profitable?
by MikeKn Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:59 am

» eMail - Survey
by maarek Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:56 am

» LDraw
by Brick_Dad Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:50 am

» MOCs for sale
by Brick_Dad Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:57 pm

» Lego Thunder Road game. ** Joel and Sam **
by classicplasticbricks Sun May 22, 2016 7:08 pm

» Philly Brick Fest 2016 Photos.
by Cale Tue May 17, 2016 2:18 pm

» Ready to join!
by Brianb Sun May 15, 2016 9:00 pm

» wanna play?
by afol666 Thu May 12, 2016 5:04 pm

Train layout needs

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Train layout needs

Post  Cpt. Gingerbeard on Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:20 pm

So....I've been having some serious A.D.D lately and need help choosing a new project. I have been getting started on something and then see a shiny object and start on something totally new. Some things I have started include a trackside warehouse/factory, cattle yard (which no longer exists), and a small coal/iron mine. I am thinking of taking the coal mine apart because I would need a mountain to provide the coal and I don't have nearly the number of pieces needed.

What are some ideas, that could be incorporated into, or could enhance the layout?

Cpt. Gingerbeard
Raw ABS pellet

Male Posts : 19
Join date : 2014-02-21
Age : 31
Location : Quakertown

Back to top Go down

Train Buildings

Post  audio525 on Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:48 am

So, I'm currently in the process of planning out a train layout with an engine shed and turntable and potentially a freight yard with an overhead crane or something.

I'm also thinking about building something similar to the structures at The Unique Brick. In all honesty, I may just end up buying all or some of those instructions. They're very nicely done.

Is the coal/iron mine the City set or an MOC? I ask because I saw LEGO had a small mine set and thought it would be cool to do something on a slightly larger scale.

audio525
Raw ABS pellet

Male Posts : 2
Join date : 2015-03-29
Age : 29
Location : Delaware

Back to top Go down

Re: Train layout needs

Post  Cpt. Gingerbeard on Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:54 pm

It was a MOC. Unfortunately, to build a mine with any sort of hill/mountain to get the resources from takes up a lot of space, which is where my MOC stalled

Cpt. Gingerbeard
Raw ABS pellet

Male Posts : 19
Join date : 2014-02-21
Age : 31
Location : Quakertown

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum