The PennLUG Forum
Welcome to PennLUG Forums! Please login or register. While registering please make sure to select YES on Newsletter so you can emails for dates and time.
Google Calendar
Latest topics
» Introductions
by cjedwards Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:21 pm

» Meetings
by mrsrothbricks Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:55 am

» 4DBrick monorail fans
by maarek Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:09 am

» FNS Black Pearl, Fusion Powered Sub MOC (LDD)
by afol666 Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:19 am

» Friends and Family 20% off for The Lego Store coupon for this weekend---anyone want it?
by bas157 Wed Sep 14, 2016 11:33 pm

» Sign me up.
by Ben-Laura Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:14 pm

» Another new member
by MikeKn Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:00 am

» buWizz remote control
by maarek Thu Jul 14, 2016 8:14 pm

» Bricklink sellers? Profitable?
by MikeKn Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:59 am

» eMail - Survey
by maarek Mon Jun 27, 2016 1:56 am

» LDraw
by Brick_Dad Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:50 am

» MOCs for sale
by Brick_Dad Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:57 pm

» Lego Thunder Road game. ** Joel and Sam **
by classicplasticbricks Sun May 22, 2016 7:08 pm

» Philly Brick Fest 2016 Photos.
by Cale Tue May 17, 2016 2:18 pm

» Ready to join!
by Brianb Sun May 15, 2016 9:00 pm

» wanna play?
by afol666 Thu May 12, 2016 5:04 pm

» New Member request
by maarek Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:39 pm

» New Member
by ruxtpin Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:23 pm

» MAKE Extra $ WEDNESDAY MARCH 9th while playing with LEGOS!! Blue Bell PA (outside Philadelphia)
by whataslacker Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:43 pm

» reporter looking to get in touch with local builders
by Kreativ Snail Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:35 pm

Some decisions to make regarding my 10-wide Budd stainless steel cars

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Some decisions to make regarding my 10-wide Budd stainless steel cars

Post  Naora on Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:19 am

I'm currently making a bunch of 10-wide Budd coaches, but I can't make up my mind on some details. Initially I was going to make the original Super Chief train set consisting of these locomotives and cars:

A. EMC E1A Locomotive #2
B. EMC E1B Locomotive #2A
1. Baggage-Mail #3430
2. Sleeper Isleta (8 sections, 2 compartments, 1 drawing room)
3. Sleeper Laguna (8 sections, 2 compartments, 1 drawing room)
4. Dormitory-Lounge #1370 Acoma (also included a barber shop)
5. Fred Harvey Company Diner #1474 Cochiti (36 seats)
6. Sleeper Oraibi (2 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 6 double bedrooms)
7. Sleeper Taos (2 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 6 double bedrooms)
8. Sleeper-Lounge-Observation Navajo (3 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 1 double bedroom)

While I already have the bodies for 5 cars built, I could easily convert them into something else. At 80' long, these cars are 'shorties' while the dining car is still 2' short at 83' long. Most cars that Budd produced in the 1940s and onward were the standard 85' long. I could either leave mine how they are, scaled to the original Super Chief, or extend them to 85 studs long, and give them a different window configuration. Although the Super Chief cars had underbody skirting, I chose instead to eliminate this on the underbodies of my cars, and instead model them after the Walthers HO scale Budd coaches.

What it comes down to is that I could either keep building the Super Chief, or I could extend all of my cars to 85 studs long and make either a later Super Chief train set with cars such as the Pine Series sleepers, a different Santa Fe train altogether, or a New York Central streamliner, since some of the cars are almost identical to those. I'm having a tough time making up my mind.

Raw ABS pellet

Male Posts : 8
Join date : 2014-01-13
Age : 25
Location : Palmyra, PA

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum