The PennLUG Forum
Welcome to PennLUG Forums! Please login or register. While registering please make sure to select YES on Newsletter so you can emails for dates and time.
Google Calendar
Latest topics
» New Member Request
by Brick Barbarian Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:09 pm

» BrickTracks Kickstarter
by danny316p Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:46 pm

» New, geographically inconvenient Lego fan
by DavidM Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:47 pm

» Introduction
by danny316p Sun Jun 10, 2018 11:27 pm

» PennLUG Club Member Information Survey.
by danny316p Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:24 pm

» Pennsylvania Trolley Museum, Trolley Fair, June 23rd and 24th 2018
by Cale Fri May 04, 2018 2:31 am

» New(ish) member
by ruxtpin Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:01 am

» LEGO Ship Building Contest March 3rd 2018
by maarek Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:49 pm

» New Member
by RaritanFan Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:03 am

» New Member Request
by RaritanFan Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:17 am

» New Member Request
by sharky17 Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:41 am

» New to the group
by maarek Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:46 pm

» HO-scale General Store
by Kreativ Snail Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:34 am

» LEGO ad campaign opportunity
by Brickadier General Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:46 pm

» LEGO Play Ball tour
by danny316p Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:56 pm

» Introductions
by Cale Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:08 pm

» new membership request
by Cale Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:07 pm

» Joining the fun
by Brianb Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:03 pm

» PFx Brick email
by maarek Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:54 am

» Videos talked about yesterday
by danny316p Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:08 pm


Some decisions to make regarding my 10-wide Budd stainless steel cars

Go down

Some decisions to make regarding my 10-wide Budd stainless steel cars

Post  Naora on Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:19 am

I'm currently making a bunch of 10-wide Budd coaches, but I can't make up my mind on some details. Initially I was going to make the original Super Chief train set consisting of these locomotives and cars:

A. EMC E1A Locomotive #2
B. EMC E1B Locomotive #2A
1. Baggage-Mail #3430
2. Sleeper Isleta (8 sections, 2 compartments, 1 drawing room)
3. Sleeper Laguna (8 sections, 2 compartments, 1 drawing room)
4. Dormitory-Lounge #1370 Acoma (also included a barber shop)
5. Fred Harvey Company Diner #1474 Cochiti (36 seats)
6. Sleeper Oraibi (2 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 6 double bedrooms)
7. Sleeper Taos (2 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 6 double bedrooms)
8. Sleeper-Lounge-Observation Navajo (3 compartments, 2 drawing rooms, 1 double bedroom)

While I already have the bodies for 5 cars built, I could easily convert them into something else. At 80' long, these cars are 'shorties' while the dining car is still 2' short at 83' long. Most cars that Budd produced in the 1940s and onward were the standard 85' long. I could either leave mine how they are, scaled to the original Super Chief, or extend them to 85 studs long, and give them a different window configuration. Although the Super Chief cars had underbody skirting, I chose instead to eliminate this on the underbodies of my cars, and instead model them after the Walthers HO scale Budd coaches.

What it comes down to is that I could either keep building the Super Chief, or I could extend all of my cars to 85 studs long and make either a later Super Chief train set with cars such as the Pine Series sleepers, a different Santa Fe train altogether, or a New York Central streamliner, since some of the cars are almost identical to those. I'm having a tough time making up my mind.

avatar
Naora
Raw ABS pellet

Male Posts : 8
Join date : 2014-01-13
Age : 27
Location : Palmyra, PA

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum